WizardTrip
Punta Cana adventure tour featuring buggies, ziplines, and monkey encounters, photo 1 | wizardtrip

Magazine Adventure

Monkeyland and Zipline Tour in Punta Cana: Four Trips Compared

Four tours from Punta Cana, lasting 6 to 12 hours: squirrel monkeys, ziplines, buggies, a cocoa plantation or the colonial capital. Here is what each one includes, how long it really takes and who will enjoy it.

By La rédaction WizardTripUpdated on 8 min read

From Punta Cana, four tours listed on WizardTrip leave from hotels across the area. Two go to Monkeyland, with ziplines and buggies or with a plantation. The other two combine zipline, buggy and horseback riding, or visit Santo Domingo. Together they have 29,401 reviews, with ratings of 4.8 to 4.9 out of 5 (as of 18 October 2026).

This article compares what each day includes, its real duration according to travelers, and the age, weight and health rules. It then explains which one to choose.

Tours from Punta Cana: what you need to know

According to the listings, pickups cover Punta Cana, Bávaro, Cap Cana, Macao, Uvero Alto, Cortecito and Cabeza de Toro. If your hotel is not listed, the package and the safari can arrange a meeting point. The zipline listing excludes pickup in La Romana and Bayahibe for groups of fewer than 16 people.

All four listings offer a full refund up to 24 hours before departure. The safari adds a free date change, on request, in case of illness or an unforeseen event.

The days are longer than the activity time. The listings state 6 to 12 hours. Travelers report up to 13 hours for the package from Cap Cana and for Santo Domingo, counting transport, waiting and stops to pick up other groups.

Monkeyland and zipline tour in Punta Cana: the 9.5-hour package

The Monkeyland, ziplines and buggies package is the most reviewed tour: 13,774 reviews, for 4.9 out of 5. It lasts 9.5 hours for 50 people at most, with a guide in French, English or Spanish.

The day starts in the Anamuya mountains with a safety briefing. You then drive a Honda Pioneer 700 buggy, alone or with one to three passengers. A swim in the Anamuya River comes before the 12-zipline course. The listing presents it as the first in the Dominican Republic certified by the ACCT.

The coconut house shows how coconut oil is made. You taste exotic fruit, roasted coffee and cocoa there. The day ends with 45 minutes at Monkeyland, among the squirrel monkeys. A Dominican lunch is included.

The minimum age is 6. The ziplines accept 20 to 127 kg. Driving the buggy requires a valid license held for at least one year. The locker costs US$5 extra.

The tour is shared: the driver may arrive within 5 minutes of the scheduled time. The vehicle leaves without a refund if you are not there.

Reviews stress the duration. John counted 13 hours from Cap Cana in March 2026, including 4 to 5 hours of transport and 4 hours of activities. A two-star review from July 2026, found on this listing, criticizes a trip of at least 2.5 hours in an open truck. It also describes a monkey enclosure of about 200 m². A French-speaking couple praised, in April 2026, a guide who translated his explanations into French.

Monkeyland safari and coffee and cocoa plantation

The Monkeyland and plantation safari lasts 6 hours, with 4,846 reviews and 4.8 out of 5. There are two departures. In the morning, pickup is from 7 am to 8:10 am; in the afternoon, from 1 pm to 2:10 pm.

The route combines Monkeyland, a squirrel monkey habitat in the middle of the jungle, a botanical garden and a coffee and cocoa plantation. You talk with the farmers and taste tropical fruit. The listing puts 3 hours at Runners Adventures Park, entrance included.

To protect the animals, the listing asks you to avoid sunscreen and repellent before the visit. Infants stay on an adult’s lap. The park is not wheelchair accessible.

Transport and water are included; food, drinks, tips and the locker are not. In July 2026, Sebastian cites photos at $50 for the digital set or $10 per print. In August 2026, Dhrumil spent 2 hours on a 45-minute trip, as the vehicle picked up four other groups.

Zipline, buggy and horseback riding: six hours at the ranch

The zipline, buggy and horseback riding day takes place at Hacienda Tuko Adventure Park. It lasts 6 hours, with 5,398 reviews and 4.9 out of 5. Groups reach 100 people, with a guide in French, English or Spanish.

After a briefing, participants split up according to their activities: zipline, horseback riding or buggy. The listing describes eight carbon-fiber zipline courses. The meal is a Dominican “plate of the day” cooked over a wood fire. It may include white rice, beans, fried chicken, roast beef, smoked pork chops and a green salad.

Phones and cameras are banned on the ziplines, unless you use an attachment kit. The listing gives neither a minimum age nor a weight limit.

In October 2025, Kimberly judges the safety comparable to American standards and sums up the horseback riding as “short but fun.” A one-star review from December 2025 reports a friction burn on the leg, in shorts, during the horseback ride.

Santo Domingo in one day from Punta Cana

The day in Santo Domingo is the longest: the listing states 10 to 12 hours, with 5,383 reviews and 4.8 out of 5. The group has 49 people at most, in an air-conditioned vehicle.

The listing details eight stops and recommends comfortable shoes for the walking. Admission is included at the Museo de las Casas Reales (15 minutes) and at the Santa María la Menor Basilica Cathedral (20 minutes). The National Palace, the Fine Arts Theater, Calle Las Damas and the Columbus Lighthouse are seen without stopping.

The program cites the Alcázar de Colón, but the practical information says it is permanently closed. The Fortaleza Ozama replaces it. The listing also keeps a mention of Covid: museums closed, panoramic visits. A November 2025 review nonetheless speaks of museums visited.

A Dominican lunch, bottled water and a professional guide are included. The listing lists a guide and an audio guide in English and Spanish, and its options add German. It does not mention a French-speaking guide.

In March 2026, Traci counts 13 hours. The same review advises taking everything with you when leaving the bus after the presidential palace: you only get back on at the end of the day. In August 2026, Michael was picked up at 6:33 am and dropped off around 7:30 pm.

The four tours compared

Monkeyland and ziplines packageMonkeyland safariZipline, buggy, horseback ridingDay in Santo Domingo
Advertised duration9.5 hours6 hours6 hours10 to 12 hours
PickupHotel or meeting pointHotel, 7 am to 8:10 am or 1 pm to 2:10 pmHotel (Punta Cana, Cap Cana, Bávaro)Hotel, time sent by email
ActivitiesBuggy, swim, 12 ziplines, coconut house, MonkeylandMonkeyland, botanical garden, plantationZiplines, buggy, horseback ridingTour of the Zona Colonial
MealDominican lunchFruit to taste; meal not includedDominican plate and fruitDominican lunch
Maximum group size50 people100 people100 people49 people
Age and weightFrom age 6; zipline 20 to 127 kgInfants on an adult’s lapNot specifiedNot specified
Guide languagesFrench, English, SpanishFrench, English, SpanishFrench, English, SpanishEnglish, Spanish
Not includedLocker (US$5), tipsMeals, drinks, tips, lockerAlcoholic drinksTips
CancellationFull refund up to 24 hours beforeFull refund up to 24 hours beforeFull refund up to 24 hours beforeFull refund up to 24 hours before
Price fromUS$209US$95US$100US$95
Based on the listings consulted on 18 October 2026. Check the options and times on the listing before booking.

With children or in the rain: what do the listings say?

The package sets the minimum age at 6 and is aimed at families with children aged 6 and over. The safari targets families with children. The zipline and Santo Domingo listings give no minimum age.

All four listings advise against the tour if you have poor cardiovascular health, or invite you to reconsider. The package asks for a moderate fitness level. The other three suit all levels.

As for weather, the package and the zipline day are canceled in bad weather. The safari runs in all weather, except hurricanes or tropical storms. In August 2026, Riverra reports a thunderstorm during Monkeyland: the rest of the tour was canceled, with no partial refund. The Santo Domingo listing does not provide for weather cancellation.

Which one should you choose?

  • You want to see the monkeys without physical effort: the Monkeyland and plantation safari, open to every fitness level.
  • You want to drive a buggy, zipline and see the monkeys: the 9.5-hour package, accepted from age 6.
  • You want to add horseback riding, with a French-speaking guide: the zipline, buggy and horseback riding day.
  • You prefer history to adrenaline: Santo Domingo, for a day of 10 to 13 hours with an English- or Spanish-speaking guide.

To plan the rest of your stay, the city’s activities and excursions are gathered on the page Things to do in Punta Cana. Other destinations in the country are on the page for the Dominican Republic.

Frequently asked questions

How long is a Monkeyland tour from Punta Cana?

The Monkeyland and plantation safari lasts 6 hours, including 3 hours at Runners Adventures Park, with a morning or afternoon departure. The package with ziplines and buggies lasts 9.5 hours. Travelers report up to 13 hours door to door for the package from Cap Cana.

Can you get close to the Monkeyland monkeys with a cold?

No. The safari and package listings state that people with a cold or the flu cannot interact with the monkeys. The safari also advises avoiding sunscreen and mosquito repellent, and allows a free date change in case of illness.

How old do you have to be to zipline and drive a buggy in Punta Cana?

The Monkeyland, ziplines and buggies package is open from age 6, for a weight of 20 to 127 kg on the ziplines. Driving the buggy requires a valid license held for at least one year. The zipline, buggy and horseback riding listing gives no minimum age.

Is the Santo Domingo tour from Punta Cana available in French?

The listing does not mention a French-speaking guide: it lists English and Spanish, with an audio guide in both languages, and its options add German. The other three tours in this article offer a guide in French.

How long is the day in Santo Domingo from Punta Cana?

The listing states 10 to 12 hours. Two travelers, in March and August 2026, counted nearly 13 hours between hotel pickup and the return. A third estimates the drive at about 3 hours from Punta Cana.

What happens if it rains during the tour?

It depends on the tour. The package and the zipline day are canceled in bad weather. The Monkeyland safari runs in all weather, except hurricanes or tropical storms. The Santo Domingo listing does not provide for weather cancellation.

Activities mentioned in this guide

All activities in Punta Cana, with their prices and reviews: Things to do in Punta Cana